Where is My Off Switch?

So jewelry-making has become an absorbing and lovely part of life (especially important when major parts of it are falling/have fallen apart). And it’s much more “adaptive” as they say, I’m sure, than a lot of things. Now I just have to find my off switch to keep myself from going ’til I get blisters . I guess the point of blistering from too much bezel-setting tool friction is sort of working as an off switch, but I wonder if I could learn to “quit while I’m ahead” as they say. They say so many things, don’t they. But they don’t seem to be able to help me find the off switch or the middle way or what I believe they call balance.

As per the going to extremes, I am planning to do a thing at a local yoga place tomorrow where they’re doing the primary series followed by the second series and some bits of the third series, as it’s meant to be done and wiry Ashtanga types do, but which is to take three hours. I should also mention that I am not wiry or guru-y. But this sort of thing does, more or less, keep me out of trouble, or at least just on the outskirts of trouble. I could do better, but also worse.

I’m coming off a series of nights of fits of fear over various imaginary dangers and threats (I am saying that I’m coming off it because that is what I hope but I don’t know–this sort of thing comes in chunks/episodes it seems). But utterly exhausting myself through a long exercisey thing often helps, like a sort of rebooting–we shall see.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment